From Literacy to Functional Skills

Standard

I’m not sure how anyone else feels, but I see literacy and functional skills as separate entities. Functional Skills is such a buzz word at the moment, and has been before. It’s even in my job title. It’s slightly frustrating that I’ve recently entered literacy teaching, then along comes functional skills. I personally felt that I wanted to undertake a Literacy DTLLS as knowing how to teach literacy surely underpins Functional English.

I have many students who are miles off being functional in their English, and need more concentrated Literacy teaching. Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

