Resources

Standard

As I’m on my journey, I thought I’d start a ‘where to go’ section for myself (and you) for resources and lesson ideas. Referenced where possible!

Etymology

See English as a global language.

Idioms

We teach many idioms in ESOL, but I have never even thought of covering idioms in literacy, and I have no idea why.

I think it depends on the purpose of the activity to be honest, and its validity in a learner’s development. You could do a similar activity to the one above (but maybe with more relevant examples to them). They could make a fun coded idiom letter to a friend.

Prefixes

Create a crossword where the answers start with some selected prefixes. You can obtain the necessary software from www.eclipse.com as suggested in SfLQI

Register

Differences between formal and informal English in the Adult ESOL Core Curriculum, p. 99. as suggested in SfLQI

Synonyms

Source materials for work on synonyms, go to the online visual thesaurus at: www.visualthesaurus.com/index.jsp as suggested in SfLQI

Leave a Reply

